Three high school seniors from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as candidates in the 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. They were selected from nearly 3.6 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools in 2021.

  • Carrie Geisler – Westminster High School
  • Yasada De Silva – Century High School
  • Gabriel Szybalski – Manchester Valley High School

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program  is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character, and involvement in community and school activities.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognizes some of the nation's most distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in the areas of academic success, leadership, and service to school and community. Students may also be recognized for exceptional scholarship and talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts or ability and accomplishment in career and technical fields. Up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars are chosen each year from among that year's senior class, representing excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America's youth.

A distinguished panel of educators will review these submissions and select approximately 600 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, will select the finalists, and the U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May.



There are no comments for this post.