Jena Ehmann, a Reading Specialist at Winfield Elementary School, was named the Carroll County 2020 Teacher of the Year during the Board of Education’s meeting on Wednesday, May 13, 2020.

Jena has a total of 12½ years of teaching experience, all in Carroll County Public Schools. Jena earned a Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Literacy Acquisition from McDaniel College in 2007. In 2012, she earned a Master of Science in Literacy Leadership, also from McDaniel College. Ehmann was an Extended Day Title I teacher at Cranberry Station Elementary School, an Advancing Early Literacy Tutor at Elmer Wolfe Elementary School, and a classroom teacher for grades 2 and 3 before becoming a Reading Specialist at Winfield Elementary School where she has been teaching since 2014.

Throughout her teaching career at Winfield Elementary School, Jena has delivered personalized and group professional development to staff members and provided model lessons, co-taught, and given direct instruction to students. She leads a school-wide focus on including students in goal setting and encourages students to work hard and do their best and plans quarterly celebrations to celebrate their accomplishments.

Jena also organizes Winfield Reads, a whole-school reading activity that culminates in an evening event for the community. This popular event, which is attended by more than 300 participants, provides meaningful learning opportunities and fosters each student’s lifelong love of learning and reading. In addition to her work as a Reading Specialist, Jena is a team leader and School Improvement Co-Chair. She also collaborates at the county level to develop curriculum, resources, and professional development.

Jena is a Vice President of the Carroll Reading Council, and a member of the National Education Association, the Maryland State Educator Association, the Carroll County Education Association, the State of Maryland Literacy Association, and the Carroll Reading Council. Awards and recognitions for the past year include Winfield Staff Member of the Month and the Winfield Elementary Leadership Award.

According to Principal Katie Purper, “Jena continuously demonstrates collegiality, leadership, and flexibility. Her positivity and love of teaching and learning permeate the entire school and add to the positive culture of Winfield Elementary School. She works tirelessly and selflessly each day with the most important thing at the forefront of all her decisions, the students!”

The Carroll County Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually to an individual who represents Carroll County teachers in the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program, and possibly the National Teacher of the Year Program. Working in collaboration with the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce, this year’s finalists for Teacher of the Year were selected by the Chamber of Commerce as winners of the Chamber’s Outstanding Teacher Awards from among over 560 teachers.



There are no comments for this post.