Denise Kresslein, a life science teacher at North Carroll Middle School, has received a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Kresslein has been teaching in Carroll County since 1996 and was teaching at West Middle School when she was named a Finalist for the Presidential Award. She is a CCPS science curriculum writer for middle schools and has served on numerous Maryland State Department of Education committees. These include Maryland Integrated Science Assessment range finding, content review, and standards setting. 

According to Science Supervisor Jim Peters, “Ms. Kresslein is a creative and dynamic science teacher who is also a system leader for science education.”

The PAEMST program, administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, recognizes outstanding teachers for their contributions to the teaching and learning of science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science.

Each awardee received a citation signed by President Trump and a $10,000 award from NSF. Awardees also were honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC.

Christine Lesh, a biology teacher at Winters Mill High School, and Noah Scholl, a general science teacher at Mt. Airy Middle School, were finalists for the Presidential Award.




There are no comments for this post.