Two Carroll County Public Schools employees were recognized at the 2019 Annual Dinner and Community Awards sponsored by The Arc Carroll County.

Mary Pat Dye, Coordinator of Post Secondary Programs, received the President’s Award. This award is presented by the President of The Arc to an individual or group that provides extraordinary leadership and meritorious service, or makes an outstanding contribution to The Arc Carroll County and/or people with intellectual and developmental disabilities in the community.

Dye is a sought after speaker and presenter in Maryland. She is often asked to pilot state special education initiatives, such as Maryland’s digital portfolio, Way to Work Grant, and work study programs at McDaniel College, Carroll Hospital, and Carroll Community College. Her work in developing Carroll County’s Transition Council is a best practice model.

Kristy Bevans, a special education/LFI teacher at Mt. Airy Middle School, received the Special Education Professional of the Year Award. This award is presented to an education professional who has demonstrated excellence in providing quality educational opportunities and/or advocacy for students with developmental disabilities in Carroll County.

Bevans was nominated by two colleagues for the phenomenal way she works with and advocates for students with special needs, including activities such as the Bulldog Brew Café that runs every Friday at Mt. Airy Middle School. She is the leader of the Life Skills program and works with students with a variety of disabilities. She tailors her instruction to their needs and to meeting their goals.

Bevans encourages her students to reach their potential by nurturing them and providing a safe and supportive space to learn. She also finds ways for students to fully integrate with their peers by sponsoring the Helping Hands Club where students with and without disabilities work together in service and fun activities.





There are no comments for this post.