Four high school seniors from Carroll County Public Schools have been nominated for recognition as United States Presidential Scholars:

  • Haley J. Harrison Ellis El – Westminster High School
  • Jackson W. Foran – South Carroll High School
  • Joshua A. Kelly – Liberty High School
  • Andrew A. Olson – Liberty High School.

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Students have the opportunity to become Presidential Scholars based on three paths of accomplishment. The majority of the Scholars are selected on the basis of broad academic achievement. Students may also be selected for their academic and artistic scholarship in the visual arts, the performing arts, or creative writing, as well as outstanding scholarship and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

A review committee of qualified individuals experienced in secondary and post-secondary education evaluates candidates on their academic achievement, personal characteristics, leadership and service activities, and an analysis of their essay. Up to 161 Presidential Scholars will be honored for their accomplishments during the National Recognition Program, held in June in Washington, D.C.



There are no comments for this post.