Press Releases

Special Education Citizenís Advisory Committee Presents 3rd Annual Awards Night

Release Date: 4/26/2011 12:13:42 PM

The Carroll County Public School System’s Special Education Citizen’s Advisory Committee (SECAC) held its third annual awards night on Tuesday, April 12, 2011, at the Carroll County Career and Technology Center. The winners of the awards are listed below:


Staff to Staff Recognition


Carrolltowne Elementary School

Donna Michelle Fleigel


East Middle School

Amy Whalen-Metz, Robert Herbstomer, Sam Feeser, Kelly Snyder, Paul Arnold, Julia Kinsey, Cindy Keefer, Brandy Feeser, Bill Thomas, Jodi Goetz, Terry Borneman, Reather Miles, Heather Brown, Christine Bechtel, Nick DePace, Elizabeth Meassick


Parr’s Ridge Elementary School

Karen Feinberg, Sarah Jenkins, Jenny Felbinger


Robert Moton and Mechanicsville Elementary Schools

Denise Nott


Robert Moton Elementary School

Emily Cramer and Joyce McKenzie


West Middle School

Linda Purcell


Westminster High School

Helene Ensign


Recognition and Appreciation Awards – Community recognition of excellence in providing services and supports to students with disabilities

  • Suzanne Barvir, Mechanicsville Elementary School 
  • Leah Betz, Sykesville Middle School
  • Caren Bezanson and Phyllis Traynor, Winters Mill High School
  • Stacy Birckner and classroom staff, Debbie Hesen, Melissa Freeman, Melissa Taberski, Gina Hughes, Colleen Donaldson, Deb Portney, Marissa Myers, Hampstead Elementary School
  • Tom Clowes, Liberty High School
  • Christine Boone Cooke, Winfield Elementary School
  • Mary Ellen Gearhart, Carrolltowne Elementary School
  • Julie Green, Hampstead Elementary School
  • Erin Martin and Michelle Kiser, Northwest Middle School
  • Sue Smith, Westminster Elementary School
  • Wes Winters, Winters Mill High School 
  • Westminster Fall Fest
  • Rose Young, Liberty High School.

These awards honor teachers, speech pathologists, physical therapists, occupational therapists, and other service providers, as well as administrators, family members, community members, and students, who have truly gone to extraordinary efforts to contribute in a compassionate and caring way to the growth, happiness, and general well-being of children.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive