Press Releases

Carroll Students Named Carson Scholars

Release Date: 4/12/2011 12:03:19 PM

Fifteen students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars for 2010-2011. The following students were recognized at the Carson Scholars Fund Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 10, 2011.
First-Time Scholars
Harrison Curnutte, Grade 8, Northwest Middle School
Justin Femiano, Grade 11, South Carroll High School
Jennifer Nguyen, Grade 5, Sandymount Elementary School

Recognized Scholars
Jared Harless, Grade 6, Northwest Middle School
Lincoln Heath, Grade 9, Westminster High School
Stacey Heaver, Grade 12, Westminster High School
Nicolas Holocker, Grade 10, Century High School
Grace McCarthy, Grade 10, Liberty High School
Christopher Nusbaum, Grade 7, Northwest Middle School
Anna Parsons, Grade 10, Westminster High School
Nathan Saurusaitis, Grade 7, North Carroll Middle School
Kelsey Stansbury, Grade 10, Manchester Valley High School
Allison Williams, Grade 9, Liberty High School
Lauren Williams, Grade 11, Liberty High School
Laura Wonilowicz, Grade 9, Winters Mill High School.
The Carson Scholars Fund is a non-profit organization founded in 1994 by Johns Hopkins pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Benjamin Carson and his wife, Candy. The Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities.  Students then receive the honor of being named Carson Scholars and are awarded with an Olympic-sized medal and a trophy for their school to celebrate their accomplishments. Previous winners of Carson Scholarships are eligible to reapply for the scholarship annually, as long as they consistently maintain high academic standards.
An interested student must be nominated by the principal at his or her school to be able to compete for a Carson Scholarship. Only one student from each school is able to apply, ensuring that each nominee epitomizes academic excellence. Carson Scholars must have a GPA of 3.75 and display humanitarian qualities through community service. Scholarships are awarded solely on the basis of academic achievement and humanitarian qualities, without regard to financial need or ethnicity.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive