Press Releases

Student Pages Selected for State Legislature

Release Date: 12/6/2010 1:52:07 PM

Each year the Maryland State Legislature invites high school students throughout the state to serve as pages on the floor of the House of Delegates and Senate. Carroll County is eligible to select four representatives and one alternate. Seniors from all eight public high schools in Carroll County were eligible to apply for the honor of serving as student page. 
The students who will represent Carroll County during the 2011 Legislative Session are Sarah Coyle and Deborah Mullen from South Carroll High School, Megan Cronhardt from North Carroll High School, and Tonya Riley from Francis Scott Key High School. Alexander Reginaldi from North Carroll High School was selected as the alternate.
The student page program enables high school seniors, selected by a local committee, to work as legislative pages for two non-consecutive weeks during the regular session of the legislature. It is designed to interest youth in state government, particularly in the proceedings of the Maryland legislature. The page program also is expected to increase participation in government and foster leadership among youth, as well as to provide students with worthwhile experiences in state government. During their assignment, the pages selected for 2011 will maintain the bill books of individual delegates and senators, run errands, distribute literature, and provide general assistance to the legislators.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive