Press Releases

Student Members on the Board of Education

Release Date: 6/17/2010 3:34:30 PM

Samson A. Fowler of the Class of 2012 at Francis Scott Key High School was seated as the Student Member of the Board of Education of Carroll County on June 9, 2010. Fowler is actively involved in student government and was elected President of his Class for his freshman, sophomore, and junior years. He is a member of the Executive Board of the Maryland Association of Student Councils and lobbies in Annapolis on student issues and rights.
Fowler’s other school activities include National Honor Society, indoor and outdoor track and field, and reviving the school’s TV news program. He was selected to attend the Hugh O’Brian Youth (HOBY) Leadership Seminar and has won multiple awards for stage magic at the Magicians’ Alliance of Eastern States. He also participates in Boy Scouts and is the theatre director for Vacation Bible School.
Angela N. Bladen of the Class of 2012 at Francis Scott Key High School is the Student Member of the Board-Elect for 2010-2011. She is an Honor Roll student and has received the Presidential Award. She has completed training in conflict resolution and has good leadership skills. Bladen works as a stable hand at Diamonds Bluff Farm in Union Bridge and is knowledgeable in equine training, maintaining, and veterinary care. She is active in soccer, cheerleading, and track at FSK and is involved in 4-H and her church youth group. In addition, she has volunteered at a horse rescue and a children’s church program. Her other interests include hiking, canoeing, jogging, reading, writing, languages, and debate.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive