Press Releases

Agriculture Teachers Recognized at State Conference

Release Date: 7/22/2008 1:25:24 PM

Several agriculture teachers from Carroll County Public Schools were recognized with awards at the Maryland Agriculture Teachers Association (MATA) summer conference. The conference was held July 8 – 11, 2008 in Hagerstown, Maryland.
Years of Service awards were presented to Diane Safar of Winters Mill High School (10 years) and Terry Adkins of South Carroll High School (20 years). Adkins and Safar also received “Teacher of Teachers” Awards. This award identifies and recognizes teachers having former students teaching agriculture.
Aaron Geiman of North Carroll High School was presented with the MATA Professional Excellence Award for Supervised Agricultural Experiences. These awards are designed to recognize MATA members who teach agriscience and Ag in the Classroom for outstanding accomplishments within their area of expertise.
Mark Smith of North Carroll High School received the “Teachers Turn the Key” Award from the National Association of Agricultural Educators. This award encourages young teachers to remain in the profession and recognizes participation in professional activities. The winner from each state will receive a scholarship to the national convention. Teachers in their second, third, or fourth year of teaching are eligible.
Two teachers from Carroll County were elected as members of the 2008-2009 MATA Executive Committee. Aaron Geiman is President Elect, and Diane Safar will serve as the Membership Chair.
The conference also offered professional development sessions for agriculture teachers. Topics included surveying, soil and land evaluation, FFA Career Development Events, FFA Proficiency Awards, FFA National Chapter Awards, and Supervised Agricultural Experiences for students.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive