Press Releases

Chamber of Commerce Names Outstanding Teachers

Release Date: 4/6/2010 9:02:55 AM

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce recognized 169 teachers at the 22nd annual Carroll County Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Teacher Awards program held on Wednesday, March 24, 2010, at Winters Mill High School. The following teachers received Outstanding Teacher Awards:
  • Sharon Adedeji – English Teacher – Century High School
  • Kathy Carhart – Grade 5 Teacher – William Winchester Elementary School
  • Stacy DeSalvo – Career Connections Coordinator – Century High School
  • Kevin Giffhorn – Math Teacher – Liberty High School
  • Erin Haney – Grade 5 Teacher – Piney Ridge Elementary School
  • Kenneth Mihalyov – Science Teacher – West Middle School
  • Christina Mohlhenrich – School Counselor – Winters Mill High School
  • Denise Ovelgone – Art Teacher – Eldersburg Elementary School.
These awards recognize the excellence of the men and women who teach in the Carroll County Public School System. Any student, parent, teacher, or school administrator may nominate a teacher. The nomination form included questions requiring specific examples of ways the individual helps students apply what they have learned to real-world situations and how they inspire students to learn and build confidence and self-esteem.
The Carroll County Teacher of the Year will be chosen from among the eight individuals receiving the Chamber’s Outstanding Teacher Award. That candidate will be Carroll County’s representative for the Maryland Teacher of the Year program. 

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive