Press Releases

Five Carroll Students Receive Byrd Honors Scholarships

Release Date: 7/2/2008 2:09:49 PM


Five seniors from Carroll County high schools have been named recipients of Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarships for 2008. These students are among the 109 Maryland scholarship winners:

  • Benjamin Harvatine, Century High School
  • Leah Hein, Westminster High School
  • Abigail Maclean-Blevins, North Carroll High School
  • Bethany Offutt, Francis Scott Key High School
  • John Sapliway, Westminster High School.

The Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program is designed to promote student excellence and achievement and to recognize exceptionally able students who show promise of continued excellence as they pursue their higher education goals. Applicants are assigned a composite score based upon high school rank in class and SAT scores. The applicants with the highest composite score in each county of the state are selected for scholarships. Recipients may take the scholarship to any accredited college in the United States .

The Maryland State Department of Education receives funding from the U.S. Department of Education in order to sponsor this program.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive