Press Releases

Carroll Students Named Carson Scholars

Release Date: 4/2/2009 1:34:06 PM

Six students from Carroll County Public Schools have been selected as Carson Scholars. The following students will be recognized at the Carson Scholars Fund Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 26, 2009, at Martin’s West.
Sarah Hall - Grade 5 - Taneytown Elementary School
Lincoln Heath - Grade 7 - West Middle School
Nicholas Holocker - Grade 8 - Sykesville Middle School
Christopher Nusbaum - Grade 5 - Runnymede Elementary School
Nathan Saurusaitis - Grade 5 - Ebb Valley Elementary School
Allison Williams - Grade 7 - Oklahoma Road Middle School. 
The Carson Scholars Fund is a non-profit organization founded in 1994 by Johns Hopkins pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Benjamin Carson and his wife, Candy. The Carson Scholars Fund awards $1,000 college scholarships to students in grades 4-11 who excel academically and are dedicated to serving their communities.  Students then also receive the honor of being named Carson Scholars and are awarded with an Olympic-sized medal and a trophy for their school to celebrate their accomplishments. Previous winners of Carson Scholarships are eligible to reapply for the scholarship annually, as long as they consistently maintain high academic standards.
An interested student must be nominated by the principal at his or her school to be able to compete for a Carson Scholarship. Only one student from each school is able to apply, ensuring that each nominee epitomizes academic excellence. Carson Scholars must have a GPA of 3.75 and display humanitarian qualities through community service. Scholarships are awarded solely on the basis of academic achievement and humanitarian qualities, without regard to financial need or ethnicity.
Since its inception, the Carson Scholars Fund has awarded over 3,400 scholarships and has scholars in 26 states.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive