Press Releases

Out-of-District Requests for 2009-2010

Release Date: 1/20/2009 10:09:42 AM

Out-of-district applications are now available in school offices. Board policy states that students who attend Carroll County Public Schools shall attend school in their designated attendance area. However, in very specific and limited circumstances, students may be placed in a school outside their attendance area if an approvable circumstance is deemed to exist. 
Parents/legal guardians desiring an out-of-district placement for their child should carefully review the list of approvable circumstances listed on the back of the out-of-district application to determine whether the child meets the criteria for approval. The Carroll County Public Schools’ out-of-district policy and regulation will be strictly adhered to in making decisions regarding admission of students to schools outside of their assigned attendance area. 
The only Carroll County Public Schools designated as “OPEN” for the 2009-2010 school year are as follows:
Cranberry Station Elementary
Ebb Valley Elementary
Elmer Wolfe Elementary
Friendship Valley Elementary
Hampstead Elementary
Manchester Elementary
Mt. Airy Elementary
Parr’s Ridge Elementary
Robert Moton Elementary
Runnymede Elementary
Sandymount Elementary
Taneytown Elementary
New Windsor Middle
North Carroll Middle
Northwest Middle
Shiloh Middle
Francis Scott Key High
Manchester Valley High
North Carroll High
South Carroll High
All other Carroll County Public Schools will be designated as “CLOSED” for the 2009-2010 school year. This means that any out-of-district application submitted for placement to a “CLOSED” school for the 2009-2010 school year will be denied unless it meets the limited criteria for admission to a “CLOSED” school. 
Parents/legal guardians who plan to submit out-of-district applications for the 2009-2010 school year need to be aware of the following procedures:


  • It is the parent’s/legal guardian’s responsibility to obtain an out-of-district application from the school office or the Student Services Department. These applications will be available on January 20, 2009, but not before. Please be certain that the application obtained is for the 2009–2010 school year. Completed out-of-district applications may not be returned to the school office. 


  •  The deadline for out-of-district applications for the 2009-2010 school year is April 1, 2009. Completed applications must be postmarked or personally delivered by the deadline date to:
 Carroll County Public Schools
Student Services Department
125 North Court Street
Westminster, Maryland 21157
  •  Applications postmarked/received after the deadline date of April 1, 2009 will be returned to the sender without consideration.

Press Release Home | Press Release Archive